Picture # 15. 29 April

Picture # 15, alternative title, ‘A Painting Only A Mother Could Love.’

Here we have a giant picture of my own face with a bright, unfinished and garish background. Hence the alternative title.

And apologies for the rotated photos…wordpress is crashing every time I try to fix this. Just crane your necks to get a proper view.

But it was a lot of fun to paint, which on some occasions is the main thing! The story goes like this…

I arrived in Newcastle, the homeland, yesterday. The first thing I saw when I went upstairs was a huge bare easel and I immediately thought this was an opportunity I couldn’t miss. I had none of my own paints and brushes, no sketches or well thought out ideas, and only about four spare hours in which to paint something. So I just went with what came into my head, which turned out to be really therapeutic. It was also quite nice not to think about the result but just concentrate on how it felt to paint something really big with really bright colours. This painting is pretty much about what I’m craving…to be right in the middle of bright, happy, broad surroundings 🙂

2 thoughts on “Picture # 15. 29 April

  1. I think therapeutic painting is the best and it makes you feel so goood! For some reason your painting reminds me a bit of Frida Kahlo, maybe its because of the flowers and she did self portaits all the time:P

    • Oh amazing, Frida’s great!! I know what you mean, there is one of hers with a green background and pink flowers…and obviously we are at an equal skill level 🙂 big paintings are the best, it was so nice to be in my mam’s house where she has the space to do something like this!

Leave a Reply

