Bye 2012!

DSCN0770

In the spirit of copying what everybody else does at this time of year, I thought I’d write a quick post to say bye to 2012 and hi to 2013!

I started this blog in January to motivate myself to get back into drawing and painting, because I neglected it for a long time, even though it was pretty much the thing that defined me all the way through childhood and something that was a big part of who I was as I got older. When I was 15 I stopped doing art at school because I wanted to use it as something to express my angsty teenage self, rather than to get good grades for observational drawing. I spent a good few years being very inspired by a person whose words I would take and make into something that they weren’t, and draw beautiful things about. As me and my mam discussed a couple of days ago, inspiration is a huge feeling, up there with love. After I stopped being so inspired, I stopped knowing what to draw, and plus I started concentrating on being someone who wasn’t quite me, so I put no importance on drawing. Then it got scary to think about drawing again…you spend so long drawing a picture, what if the result is crap, and you just wasted your time and realised you’re worse than you were when you were five?

After taking a few life drawing classes at the end of 2011, I remembered how much I loved drawing, and how nice it was to get back into that drawingy place inside me. So I started the blog, making a commitment, mostly to myself, that I’d be creative at least once a week. It took me further than that, and was a big part of what made me end up doing what I have wanted to do for as long as I can remember….moving to Spain.

The pictures for this post are two that I found here in my mam’s house over Christmas. We went to Cala Galdana in Menorca for our first family holiday abroad, when I was 6. One thing  I remember about the holiday is my dad sitting and painting this house that we could see from the swimming pool. One day I must have decided to do the same. I loved that holiday and I think that planted the Spain seed in my head. I thought these pictures were pretty fitting for this post. I hope I’ve improved a bit since I was 6.

I’m excited to see where drawing takes me in 2013.

Leave a Reply

