All Creatures Great and Small

Walking home through Plaza Alameda on a sunny afternoon, I spotted this lovely beast taking a break in the shade. I noticed her because the colour of her fur looked great against the turquoise paint of the wall she was leaning against. When I looked closer I saw she was wearing a crucifix! Only in Spain man. She looked very thoughtful, but who can say what she was pondering? If God created everything who created God? Was Eve really created from the rib of Adam and if so, how can we analyse this through a feminist perspective? The intricacies of transubstantiation and consubstantiation and how they divided a continent? We’ll never know, but anyway, I made this quick painting to remember the moment I saw my first perra catolica.

Leave a Reply

